Login Page - Create Account

Support Board


Date/Time: Fri, 19 Jul 2024 17:58:43 +0000



Post From: Clear selected position data not working

[2014-01-30 05:16:47]
Sierra Chart Engineering - Posts: 104368
1. In order to see consistency for the same symbol for all of the charts listed on the Trade Stats for Charts tab you do need to enable Order Fill Calculated Position on them if they are listed there. However, there is no need to go into Chart Trade Mode to do this. This is necessary in your case because you are on a trading server that does not carry overnight positions.

other times it just adds a complete random chart/DOM to the Trade Starts for Charts Window.
The only reason a chart would be listed on the Trade Stats for Charts tab is if it is maintaining an internal trade list. There are various conditions which cause this to occur which may not be obvious to the user. There is definitely nothing random to what you see.

The issues you see with this relate to what we describe in number 2 below.

2. We actually now realize why this occurs. It has to do with the fact that the live position data which determines the setting of Open/Close for the fill is not accurate. We may just have to ignore it. We have contemplated that in the past but decided not to but it might be the only reasonable thing.

This is something that has been so extensively discussed internally and we never came up with an ideal solution to it because there isn't an ideal solution. It is just one of these things that inherently is difficult and does not work right if the server does not have accurate position data like in the case where does not carry overnight positions

3. This is by design. It is not saved.

In summary, nothing here is a bug. The primary issue here is the server does not carry overnight positions and is throwing off order fill matching and internal position calculations.

From our position, when we get hit with all of these questions it is really difficult for us because it takes time to understand what you are saying, to respond, and really we don't thoroughly understand everything you are describing because some things you describe don't seem to make sense. However one thing we are 110% certain of is there is no bug here.

These are not questions that some hired person can answer. Only the developers who are intimately familiar with the software can answer these questions. And it is time-consuming for us. That is why we do not like to take time with this. And we understand why an attentive user will ask these questions. The problem is, there is a lot of wasted time on each side over these issues and there is not a simple solution to this.

So in the end, we are no further to solving the problem and have spent a lot of time answering questions which we have tried answer in the documentation. But one thing we need to make clear though is that how the open/close can be wrong in the case of inaccurate position data.


At this point, we are declining further support on this issue because we cannot spend further time on this. Please understand. We are going to contemplate what to do about this. We will not be responding further to this.
Sierra Chart Support - Engineering Level

Your definitive source for support. Other responses are from users. Try to keep your questions brief and to the point. Be aware of support policy:
https://www.sierrachart.com/index.php?l=PostingInformation.php#GeneralInformation

For the most reliable, advanced, and zero cost futures order routing, *change* to the Teton service:
Sierra Chart Teton Futures Order Routing
Date Time Of Last Edit: 2014-01-30 05:23:55